Yay for Banned Books Week!

September 21, 2014 § Leave a comment

LeahHoelscher_Beloved

Today is the first day of Banned Books week – a week that we celebrate intellectual freedom and stick it to all those who thought they could silence great art and interesting reads by taking a few books off library shelves and school curriculum. Not So! I think it’s been pretty well documented that as soon as a book is challenged, people basically *have* to read it to figure out what the big deal is all about. I love Banned Books week because I love intellectual freedom just as much as I love rolling my eyes at folks that think that books with talking animals are harmful to kids. So I’ve made some art to celebrate banned books! This was my second year to participate in the Lawrence Public Library‘s Banned Book trading card contest. Local artists submit art inspired by banned books, and the library picks 7 winners and issues a trading card with a new piece of art for each day of Banned Books week. Last year I was one of the lucky winners with my entry inspired by Sherman Alexie’s book The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian.

This year I made the above piece inspired by Toni Morrison’s Beloved – one of my favorite books – and while I didn’t win, it was super fun to participate. However, Smashotron Scott DID win with his entry inspired by Art Spiegelman’s Maus.

Bonus: Check out this awesome video I found of Sherman Alexie talking on why its actually pretty great to have your book be banned.

10713_mycard

Do you have any favorite banned or challenged books?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Yay for Banned Books Week! at .

meta

