New Work: Sleep or Swim

February 3, 2014 § Leave a comment

swim_sleep_watermarked

I was recently inspired to make this illustration by the book The Secret World of Sleep by Penelope A. Lewis. Like a lot of creative people, I have a pretty fraught relationship with sleep. I’m always vowing to go to bed “on time” and then realizing that I have so many ideas I can’t sleep, or that I have to sacrifice sleep to get something important done. The book was a fascinating look at what our brain is actually doing when we sleep, some theories about how dreams are fabricated, and why sleep is so critical. It was fascinating and I highly recommend it!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Work: Sleep or Swim at .

meta

