Studio Time: Color Obsession

November 13, 2013 § 1 Comment

collage_lavender

collage_neon

collage_tan

Choosing colors is one of my favorite aspects of creating art, and over time I’ve amassed a bounty of resources to enable this obsession. My favorite are my color collage sketchbooks (seen above). Sometimes I leave pages unfinished for weeks or months before finding the right color combination to complete the collages. Having these is like having a secret stash of mood boards at the ready! I also love to go through my old photos on flickr for good color palettes, as well as browse Pinterest for inspiration. I always take in a lot of color inspiration for each project, but in the end, I can usually find one or two images that really hit the mark, color wise. From there I work out a basic palette and adjust as I go. Below are a few of my favorite color palettes, side by side with patterns I made with them:

cheerful_palette

fabulousfruit

popbloss_palette

Of course, there’s lots of other great resources on the web, which I use regularly. ColourLovers, Kuler, and Color Collective are a few of my favorites. I also love flipping trough the inspiration books in the paint section of my local hardware store, leafing through my Pantone book, and checking out art books from the library for further inspiration. There’s no end to the color love here!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Studio Time: Color Obsession

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Studio Time: Color Obsession at .

meta

