Tales from the Road: It all started with a map…

May 11, 2013 § Leave a comment

4_wanderlustxup_watermark

World Map of Wanderlust – Detail ©Leah Hoelscher 2013 all rights reserved.

I blame the map. When I was growing up, we had a one small wall in our house reserved especially for maps. We had a map of the United States and a map of the world there, and onto those we would pin postcards our friends and family sent us from all over the US and occasionally from abroad. I would ask anyone we knew who went on vacation to send us a postcard, and eventually got to the point where nearly every state was represented and a healthy number of countries. I would obsess over the map and the postcards, curious about all the new places and interesting things in the pictures. Even then travel was a major source of inspiration for me.

Wanderlust for me has never been a flaky desire to escape but an expression of my curiosity about the world, a desire to learn, and a method for drawing inspiration for everything that I do.  It’s been my way of making my own path through life, a path I suspect will lead me to many more interesting places!

{Tales from the Road is my occasional blog series in which I share some of the better stories and reflections from my travels in Asia, Europe, and South America. This is in part to make up for terribly lazy travel blogging over the past year and half, but hey, better late than never!}

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tales from the Road: It all started with a map… at .

meta

