Gearing up for Surtex 2013!

March 21, 2013 § 3 Comments

rackcard1

I’m off to a BIG start for 2013! I’m going to be making my first foray into the art licensing world at Surtex, the premier art licensing trade show in New York City May 19–21, 2013. I attended the show last year and was overwhelmed by the amount of both talent and opportunity available in the surface design and art licensing world. After I came back from my South America trip in December, I knew that I wanted to pursue art as a career and decided that Surtex was the ideal place for me to bring my work to a larger audience.

And a larger audience it definitely is! Surtex estimates that 7,000 art buyers from apparel, home furnishings, gift, tabletop, textile and wall covering markets will attend the 3-day trade show. Last year, I experimented with postcard mailings and other small-scale promotion measures, but I felt that to really kick off my art licensing career exhibiting at Surtex was the way to go. To prepare, I’m putting the final touches on a dozen new pattern & illustration collections. The themes I’m focusing on for this show are floral, nature, food, geometric, tribal, and travel. I’ve done quite a lot of research on current trends, printing and production methods, merchandizing, and other aspects of the industry to help me polish my portfolio for manufacturers, but really the backbone of everything I make is the sketchbooks from my travels. The inspiration I got on the road is invaluable, and gives my designs a strong voice that I’m proud to share at Surtex. I’ve encountered so many great traditions of textile design all over the world. Now this is my chance to add my voice!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Gearing up for Surtex 2013!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gearing up for Surtex 2013! at .

meta

