Let the Sun Shine In: My Quest for a Stronger Creative Vision

January 30, 2013 § 2 Comments

SOL_photo

© Leah Hoelscher 2013

 

OK, so its been almost two months since my time as a free ‘n easy traveler in South America came to an end. Basking in the sun in the beaches of Chile and Peru, surfing, mountain biking down the Andes in Bolivia, these are all but sweet sweet memories now.

It’s so easy for me to feel inspired on the road, with the constant supply of new things to ooh and awe at. Maybe just as importantly, it’s easier to feel confident when I’m out there taking on the world when simple things like border crossings and making coherent small talk in Spanish feel like big accomplishments.

Traveling makes me feel connected to a bigger world, a bigger adventure, a bigger sense of purpose. I think this is why my sketchbooks really boom on all my trips – it just seems more important to make time to draw. Also, I just feel so great when I’m on a trip, naturally. When I travel, I get a good amount of sleep. When I travel, I read fiction books. When I travel, I breath fresh air and get a tan.

So this is my challenge: I’m not traveling now. I’m working, building my licensing business from the ground up. In some ways, its the most exciting and risky thing I’ve ever done. But, to do this I need to spend a lot of time in my studio. Indoors. In winter. In Kansas. I do not have a tan.

At least I can still hold on to the strong vision I felt while on the trip – for my life and for my work and business. For me, feeling the bigger vision is like feeling the sun shine on my skin. Some days its a struggle, but this time I’m deliberately keeping the images and memories of the trip with me to save that vision from fading (like my tan). Let the Sun Shine In!

Also, I’d love to hear about YOUR creative vision – where you got it, how you keep it. Have you had any experiences that really defined a vision for your work?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Let the Sun Shine In: My Quest for a Stronger Creative Vision

  • Drew Stearns says:

    I’ve always found the phrase, “ain’t nothin’ to it but to do it” really helpful. I use it as a mantra whenever I’m nervous about attempting something for the first time.

    Also, if I’m suffering from some kind of mental block, I’ll just start writing or sketching aimlessly. If I can’t find some spark of motivation within a half-hour, I’ll close shop for a couple hours and tackle household chores (laundry, cleaning, grocery shopping, etc…)

  • littlearrow says:

    Thanks Drew 🙂 I’ve had a bunch of mantras but I never find one that really sticks. Right now I have “We insure the future by doing it” taped to my computer >.<

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Let the Sun Shine In: My Quest for a Stronger Creative Vision at .

meta

