good eats and crappy photos

April 27, 2010 § Leave a comment

I know, I say that whenever I post photos of cooked food, but truthfully, I suck at food photography.

That’s okay, though, because I’d much rather be good at cooking! And lately I’ve been getting back into it, largely because of a couple of wonderful care packages I received from my parents and grandpa. I was also got the chance to raid a departing co-worker’s cabinets, and with the recent influx of good ingredients I’ve been cooking up a storm. I started with Mexican food, because that’s what I’ve been DYING for all these months. Chicken enchiladas, black bean burritos, mmm. But I am particularly proud when I can whip up a meal of seemingly incongruous ingredients.  Such as this meal I made last week:

Spinach pasta with pesto sauce, Parmesan cheese (GOOD Parmesan cheese!), salmon, and tomatoes with a fried egg and asparagus that I paid an arm and a leg for. It was worth it. I mainly put the egg on there because last spring my favorite meal was “Midnight eggs,” or almost-fried eggs with sauteed asparagus and veggies. Pretty good for a sleep-deprived college senior, huh?

And then I discovered that April is Grilled Cheese Month. My Grandpa sent me a wheel of Gouda, and I thought this was the perfect way to use it since Gouda melts so easily. After a five minute tour of Food Gawker‘s Gouda recipes, I knew what I had to do: combine the cheese with apples, ham, caramelized onions, and maple syrup (conveniently provided by my departed Canadian co-worker). Splurge on some whole wheat bread and micro green salad, there you go.

This is all not to say that I don’t care for Korean food, because I do love Korean dishes from ddokbokgi to mandu kal guk soo to kalbi, but you know, I just want good ol’ western foodie-food sometimes.  I yearn for Free State Beer and fresh peaches from my parents’ orchard, I get giddy when I think about hitting up vegan breakfast places in Portland when I visit Mayvo this summer.  I have an emotional attachment to the veggie-friendly/ western-fusion/ farmer’s market style food I ate all through college, plain and simple.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading good eats and crappy photos at .

meta

