rewinding

November 18, 2009 § Leave a comment

Here is my much-procrastinated catch up blog. Catching up for the past six weeks.

I’ve decided the reason I choose to  write long-winded posts about my current flavor of  frustration or whatever I read in the New York Times over what I’m actually doing, while I live in Asia and do different and sometimes interesting things, is because I don’t really tend to rehash my memories the way I do my opinions or my daily struggles – at least I don’t do it verbally. I do it with pictures.

Welcome to the new blog scheme: photo of the week.

Rules: there will be one, and only one (if you want to see more you know where to go) photo of the week, plus a few brief notes on the events of that week.

Begin!

Week of November 9 – 15, 2009

the morning of my 23rd

Well, actually this photo is from my birthday, the 16th. I woke up early to skype with my parents – I went down to the Karosu-gil (a cute street with lots of boutiquey stores and coffee shops with free wi-fi) and all the gingko leaves had fallen and the whole street was covered with gold leaves. It was beautiful.

Week of November 2 – 8, 2009

This weekend I got the hell out of  Seoul  and visited Tom in the village of Hobub, a little outside Icheon. It’s pretty rural and kind of reminded me of the Korean knockoff of my hometown of Vinland, Kansas. The picture is of the house that Tom’s apartment is connected to. When I was there the whole courtyard was full of plastic tubs of new kimchi.

Week of October 26 – November 1, 2009


It was Halloween weekend. Due to a natural disaster of laziness and poor planning, I did not have a costume. But, I did celebrate, in the usual manner of a weekend in Seoul.

Week of October 19 – 25, 2009

tom and peter on gwanaksan

Tom, Peter, Amy and I climbed Gwanaksan in southern Seoul. I finally succeeded in taking a somewhat clear photograph of the elusive Korean squirrel, and we made friends with many ajumas (older ladies) who wanted to feed us as we hiked up the mountain. The next day Tom and I went to the Seoul Design Olympiad, which I already blogged a little bit about. It was futuristic and spectacular!

Week of October 12 – 18, 2009

alongside han river bike path

This weekend Amy and I visited a fellow Jayhawk, Emily in Anyang. On Sunday I went for a long bike ride on the Han River with Tom.

Week of October 5 – 11, 2009 PLUS Chuseok Weekend!

BONUS! Since I was too lazy to ever post about my Chuseok surf trip, I’ll let you have two pics for this one “week.” Aren’t I nice?

meatasaurus rex

Yeah, I started eating meat again. This weekend was Canadian Thanksgiving and my friend Garth’s birthday, so clearly we had to do something special – like hit up the all you can eat Brazillian steak place that is conveniently located in Apgujeong. This night was long and very memorable, but not very bloggable. Summary: I met someone nice.

two tigers

Amy and I had a lot of fun in Busan over Chuseok – we went with a tour group and visited a Buddhist temple, the Jagalchi Fish Market, and spent a lot of time on the beach swimming and exploring and learning to surf. We ate sea snails and saw little kids wearing hanbok (traditional Korean costume) playing in the surf on Chuseok morning. And I did manage to surf with varying degrees of success!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading rewinding at .

meta

