creating trouble

April 16, 2009 § Leave a comment

baby_tomatoes1

I saw Bruce Mau speak a week ago, and I have to say it was quite the experience. I haven’t seen that many larger-than-life design celebrities speak in person, so I don’t have much to compare to but I was really struck by his sheer abition. This guy takes the stage and talks about designing for perpetuity, creating a way to make the world acutally be sustainable and make people want to be sustainable. He says things like “I believe in lost-in-the-woods education” and throws around the term “artscience” several times. When it was time for the Q and A people were jumping out of their seats to press him for details on these seductive concepts. He was totally elusive. Totally fascinating.

Bruce Mau’s talk sort of danced around a lot of the thoughts I’ve been having about my future. I struggle with why people are expected be so focused when in nature, everything is connected. My garden (that little scrawny thing up there!) feels like just as much of a design project as my actual design project. I don’t know, it just does. It’s too bad that the alternative to pin pointing something is to be vague. Oh well. Guess that’s part of the fun 🙂

Here’s a detail of a world timezone map I’m working on. Nerdy. I love it.

timezone map detail

timezone map detail

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading creating trouble at .

meta

